Designer Of The Week!

And now, I present to you, Maite Alegre from the UK!

A look that is coming up in the stylish world of Decor, Maite Alegre is one to definitely contact for her hand painted and restored furniture. It gives a “classic French rustic look or elegant Swedish country style,” as said in the Living Period magaine.

How fantastic is that?

Her Start:

She started in 2006, when she created her buisness from a lifelong passion. She handpaints each piece, creating a “vintage, shabby chic effect” and made with thought and love. She can work with just about any type of furniture and special trinkets (As you can see in some of the pictures.)

And the rest, well… I think she describes and talks about it best:

“I take one-off commissions, sourcing items to customise by request as well as restoring and giving new life to pieces brought to me by customers from across the UK. I’ve brought a touch of my striking white charm to the homes of high profile clients including the Duchess of Marlborough for her London and New York residences, as well as Julian Metcalfe the founder of Pret a Manger.

I am proud that this is an ethical business which encourages recycling, upcycling and the reuse of furniture that may not otherwise find a loving home.

I work closely with all of my customers to bring together an idea on budget and to your time-scale.

My Spanish origins influence my work, as do my very British surroundings and a passion for interior design. Like the beautiful wine region of Rioja where I was born, my pieces bring serenity and calm to a room and transform something that may be tired and dated into something truly beautiful – a real talking point.

You may not have heard of me yet, but if you love beautiful things and you are looking to add a unique touch to your home, or just want to spend an afternoon in the prettiest Oxfordshire surroundings, then do come and visit – our door is always open, the kettle boiling and the cake stand laden with delicious treats. ”

EXTRA: Not only can you visit her site, they hold cream tea events where you visit her, enjoy scones and tea and look around her showroom at your own speed! How fantastic is that? (My favorite phrasing: enjoy scones and tea from dainty French china cups and wander around the showroom at your leisure. Isn’t that such a lovely picture painted?)

I think it’s all quite lovely and so ahead of the trend~! They’re becoming BIG as we saw at High Point Show. (It’s a show where major decor places release upcoming trends for 2012 and coming seasons!) They were telling me this style was just everywhere and just working the room! So take advantage and visit Maite Alegre at her site!: http://www.maitealegre.co.uk/

5 thoughts on “Designer Of The Week!

  1. Beautiful profile. That’s so neat that you really show readers who she is in addition to pinpointing a trend. She sounds extremely nice, which makes me like her work even more. Those chairs are amazing by the way!

    • Thank you! I try to do my best. Words are just not enough sometimes.

      And I KNOW! Aren’t they beautiful? I love the basket to be quite honest. Never thought of doing that to something so simple like that. Has great effect.

  2. Karolyn says:

    Love it!! Very light and airy design.
    Karolyn
    The Relished Roost

  3. Renia says:

    very chic Maite, love your work. Thank you for sharing it!
    Renia Karakoulaki
    interior designer from Greece
    reniak.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

