Old Fashioned Home Style Cooking

I feel… nostalgic. I remember when I was little, my mom or dad cooking up some of my favorite stew or soup in the world:

Beef Stew.

It was so delicious. Once I got older, I realized how simple it was as well.

What’s even better:
CROCK POTS.

Yes, cooking in a crock pot saves time but also creates these delicious flavorful meals.  And seeing as I am a working mom, it makes life WONDERFUL. Throw it all together, and I get the delicious tasting home style cooking that I adored when I was little. In fact, here is my own personal recipe. (Although, there aren’t nice descriptions of how much, etc.)

Beef Stew (YoungMomDecor Type)


Ingrediants:

A Cut of Beef (size depending upon your size of crockpot)
Kernels of Corn
Potatoes (Peeled and cut into big chunks)
Salt
Pepper

Additional/Optional Ingrediants:

Celery
Carrots

Directions:

– Put in the beef but arrange it so there is room around it to put the vegetables (corn, potatoes, etc).

– Spread the veggies around with a nice mixture. Make sure it is not too stuffed so you can add water to make actual stew.  Sprinkle salt and pepper on top of everything.

– Add a little amount of water, maybe a few cups, that way to encourage the liquid/stew part. The less you do, the thicker it will be, but you do want a least a little.

– Put lid on top and start the crock pot. Let it sit all day.

– Serve and enjoy! The richness and simplicity does wonders and is enjoyable by all! (The kids even eat the veggies!)

I know, simple, but worth the wait. And all you have to do is throw it all together in the morning and have a perfect dinner at night.

Honestly, makes me drool just thinking about it.

Leave a Reply

