The Fashion Trend That I Like?

I admit it: I am not fashionable.

I don’t have a fashionable bone in my body when it comes to clothes. I tend to not like most of what is going on with clothes, and do not wear what is considered in. But somehow I still got on Bazaar’s Magazine list and still get their THICK magazine haunting and filling my mail box.

But I got to curious about what is to come. And I was pleasantly surprised at what I found: Pale Pastel Colors are BACK!

This is the sight I saw on Style.Com and I was extremely happy:

Spring 2012 trend reports

PALE FIRE

After months of blaring neons and eye-searing prints, the pretty pastels we saw from Francisco Costa at Calvin Klein Collection and the new dut at Valentino were a welcome palette cleanser. Giambattista Valli and Louis Vuitton’s Marc Jacobs embraced the light, too, serving up color-blocked looks in sweet ice cream shades. Two scoops, please.”

Make that not just them loving it!

I got to thinking, why not incorporate that into decor? And to make sure I don’t complicate it too much, I looked into some more solid tones, just to get a room started. That way, you can have other matching or complimentary items that will easily fit around the rug!

Yes, I said it. RUG. It’s been a while since I have shown to my favorite flooring, and so here are some pastel colored rugs to get you started for the season!

(Like always, if you want to see more pictures of these rugs, go ahead and click on them. They will link up their page.)

Good start right? Nice light colors to work with. Love it. And I may even partake in wearing some light colors this Spring Season. *wink*

But looking at those light colors somehow reminded me of sweets. So, here’s a recipe as well.

I’m a mom, I can’t help it. (Gotta love Good Housekeeping!)

Ingredients

1 1/2 cup(s) all-purpose flour

1/4 teaspoon(s) salt

1/3 cup(s) confectioners’ sugar, see step 1

3 tablespoon(s) confectioners’ sugar, see step 5

10 tablespoon(s) butter or margarine, chilled and cut into 1/2-inch pieces

1 teaspoon(s) vanilla extract

3 tablespoon(s) ice water

6 ounce(s) reduced-fat cream cheese (Neufchâtel), softened

1/2 cup(s) reduced-fat sour cream

3 tablespoon(s) chopped crystallized ginger

1 1/2 pound(s) strawberries, stems and leaves discarded and each berry cut lengthwise in half


Directions

  1. In food processor with knife blade attached, combine flour, salt, and 1/3 cup sugar; pulse until blended. Add butter and pulse until mixture resembles coarse meal. Add vanilla, then ice water, 1 tablespoon at a time, pulsing until moist clumps form. Gather dough into ball; flatten into disk. Wrap disk in plastic wrap and refrigerate until firm enough to roll, about 1 hour. (If chilled overnight, let dough stand 30 minutes at room temperature before rolling.)
  2. Preheat oven to 375 degree F. On large sheet of parchment paper, with floured rolling pin, roll dough into 12-inch round. Using 11-inch dinner plate as guide, and with sharp knife, cut 11-inch round from dough; discard trimmings.
  3. Transfer round, still on parchment, to large cookie sheet. Press one index finger against outside edge of dough round; with index finger and thumb of other hand, push dough around fingertip toward center to form a flute. Repeat around edge to make a decorative border. Refrigerate or freeze, on cookie sheet, about 10 minutes to firm dough slightly.
  4. Bake dough 20 to 25 minutes or until golden. Cool crust completely on cookie sheet on wire rack, about 20 minutes.
  5. When crust is cool, in medium bowl, with spoon, mix cream cheese, sour cream, crystallized ginger, and remaining 3 tablespoons sugar until blended. Spread cream cheese mixture on crust. Arrange strawberries, wide ends down, in concentric circles in cream cheese mixture to cover.

Read more: Fresh Strawberry-Cream Cheese Tart – Cream Cheese Recipes – Good Housekeeping

Leave a Reply

