♪ I Want You Back ♪

Now, there may be many who have no IDEA where my title comes from.

It comes from my childhood. Specifically, my favorite band back when I was a kid: *Nsync!

♪ You’re all I ever wanted
You’re all I ever needed, yeah
So tell me what to do now
‘Cause I want you back ♪

Ah, what nice lyrics! Seriously, have your READ the lyrics? (Hint, go here.)

I am REALLY half tempted to post the video up here, but I don’t want to scare some of you readers away!

But having this random urge to listen to this, it made met think about a lot of things from the Good Ol’ Days that I miss. And so, this is a tribute to being a kid.

1. Rice Krispie Treats!~

Yes, we still have them, but it just feels like some kids of today just don’t know nor understand the enjoyment of making these goodies! And it’s something I haven’t done in a while. I’ll need to whip these up pretty soon.

(Thank you Rice Krispie Site! for providing the original recipe!)

Ingredients:
  • 3 tablespoons butter or margarine
  • 1 package (10 oz., about 40) regular marshmallows
  • – OR –
  • 4 cups miniature marshmallows
  • 6 cups Kellogg’s® Rice Krispies® cereal

Directions:

1. In large saucepan melt butter over low heat. Add marshmallows and stir until completely melted. Remove from heat.

2. Add KELLOGG’S RICE KRISPIES cereal. Stir until well coated.

3. Using buttered spatula or wax paper evenly press mixture into 13 x 9 x 2-inch pan coated with cooking spray. Cool. Cut into 2-inch squares. Best if served the same day.

MICROWAVE DIRECTIONS:
In microwave-safe bowl heat butter and marshmallows on HIGH for 3 minutes, stirring after 2 minutes. Stir until smooth. Follow steps 2 and 3 above. Microwave cooking times may vary.

2. Music!

Music these days are just not the same! You can even compare the Lyrics between Justin Timberlake back in the day, and more recent!

Then:
“It’s hard to say I’m sorry
It’s hard to make the things I did undone
A lesson I’ve learned too well, for sure
So don’t hang up the phone now
I’m trying to figure out just what to do
I’m going crazy without you”

Recent:
“I’m bringing sexy back
Them other [bleep!] don’t know how to act
Come let me make up for the things you lack
‘Cause you’re burning up I gotta get it fast ”

Clearly, it has changed in the meaning. *tears*

I remembering listening to *Nsync, Backstreet Boys, Spice Girls, S Club 7, and many many others. The “bubblegum” music has changed! It’s gotten dirtier! Gah!

(What were some of your favorite artists from the day?)

3. Disney movies.

I’m spoiled rotten. I lived when a lot of the Disney Classics came out. Oh yeah. I love this style of movie, and it is missed. They have done some good ones lately (Cars 2, Pirates of the Caribbean: On Stranger Tides) but well… don’t you miss the old ones? They’re still on the TOP of the “most liked” kids movies. Oh yeah.

There are many other things (easy homework, no responsibilities, etc) but it also scares me seeing the kids of today. They do things that I would have never dreamed of doing, saying things they shouldn’t be saying, and dressing in crazy ways. What happened? I am hoping to raise my daughter with some of the things I grew up with…

but it’s terrifying. O.O

Then again, maybe I’m just in a older mindset. (Ah, kids of 1989, do you understand what I am talking about? No? Huh…)

What about your childhood do you miss?

And now, we shall end with my favorite Disney “Princess”:

Leave a Reply

